LGBTQ Resource Guide

Provides a framework for delivering culturally safe clinical care to LGBTQIA populations filtered through the lens of racial, economic, and reproductive justice. Provides clinical scenarios, case studies, recommendations, and the most up-to-date guidelines available for treating LGBTQIA patient populations.

Informs health care professionals about health care disparities affecting LGBT people and provides insights and a road map for action that could improve queer health. Includes essays that illuminate the health challenges LGBT people experience and challenges conventional wisdom about health care delivery.

Authored by the first transgender athlete to compete in any sport on an NCAA Division 1 men’s team, the book addresses fundamental topics, from why being transgender is not a choice and why pronouns are important, to more complex issues including how gender-affirming healthcare can be lifesaving and why allowing trans youth to play sports is good for all kids.

Offers a comprehensive view of mental, medical, and public health conditions within the LGBT community. Examines the health outcomes and risk factors that gender and sexual minority groups face while simultaneously providing evidence-based clinical recommendations and resources for meeting their health needs.

Breaks down the most commonly held misconceptions about lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people and their lives. Discusses and dispels common myths--challenging readers to question their own beliefs and to grapple with the complexities of what it means to be queer in the broadest social, political, and cultural sense.

Focuses on the mental, physical, and spiritual aspects of health, and considers both risk and resiliency factors for the Black LGBT population.

Equips clinicians with the knowledge, skills, and awareness to treat TNGC clients with competent and affirming care. Provides up-to-date information on language, etiquette, and appropriate communication and conduct in treating TGNC clients, and discusses the history, cultural context, and ethical and legal issues that can arise in working with gender-diverse individuals in a clinical setting.

Helps healthcare professionals provide well-informed, culturally sensitive healthcare to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) patients.

Part 1 of this 3-part series can help pediatric primary care providers to combat stigma and discrimination for their LGBTQ+ patients. Includes guidance on providing inclusive signage, paperwork, publications, and waiting room materials, etc in the clinic setting.

Part 2 of this 3-part series can help pediatric primary care providers become stronger allies for transgender and gender diverse patients and their families in the clinic, community, and beyond.

Part 3 of this 3-part series helps pediatric primary care providers screen, identify, and care for transgender and gender-diverse youths to foster healthy growth and development and positive long-term health outcomes, including decreased morbidity and mortality.

Shows healthcare and medical practitioners how to deliver primary and secondary care to gender diverse patients. Provides accessible and practical advice on tailoring the social and ethical aspects of practice to the needs of each individual. Eplains how to use language and pronouns in a respectful way, provides information on transgender services and resources, and offers insights into the challenges commonly faced by transgender people in both medical and social contexts.

Introduces the concept of microaggression​s and presents a taxonomy of microaggression​s. Examines the psychological effect of microaggression​s on both the perpetrators and target person. The manifestations of racial, gender, and sexual orientation microaggression​s are explored along with their impact. Discusses microaggression​s in education, employment, and health care along with suggestions and guidelines for combating microaggression​s.

Provides a comprehensive resource to serve as a foundation for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) health education across multiple disciplines. Designed to be integrated into health sciences curricula and offers pointed strategies to evaluate the integration of LGBTQ health topics.

Presents a broad range of LGBT health issues from an interdisciplinary and mixed-method perspective. Leading experts present both quantitative and qualitative descriptions of health issues among various population groups.